Search Results
Search this site
516 results found with an empty search
- Medovate and JEB Technologies combine into single medical-device company
Medovate and JEB Technologies are combining into a single medical-device company under the Medovate name, integrating product development, manufacturing, regulatory and commercial capabilities. The combined organisation will bring together Medovate's international commercial platform and medical-device portfolio with JEB Technologies' engineering and manufacturing capabilities. The consolidation is intended to create a vertically integrated medtech business able to take devices from concept through regulatory approval, manufacturing and global commercialisation. Field Content Alert Type Deal Companies Medovate; JEB Technologies Deal Type Corporate combination / merger Asset or Company Combined business operating under the Medovate name Sector Medical devices; medtech Technology or Modality Medical-device development and manufacturing Deal Value Financial terms were not disclosed Geography United Kingdom; international What Happened Medovate and JEB Technologies agreed to combine into one medical-device company operating under the Medovate brand. Why It Matters The transaction creates a more integrated medtech organisation spanning design, engineering, manufacturing, regulatory approval and international commercialisation. Supporting Context Medovate specialises in developing and commercialising clinician-led medical technologies, while JEB Technologies provides product-development and manufacturing capabilities. Strategic Rationale Combining the businesses creates an end-to-end platform capable of supporting medical devices from initial concept through commercial-scale production and market launch. Potential Impact The integrated model could shorten development timelines and give external innovators a single partner for design, regulatory, manufacturing and commercialisation services. Key Takeaway Medovate and JEB Technologies are consolidating into one vertically integrated medical-device company. What to Watch Formal launch of the combined company on 21 September and subsequent portfolio, customer and international expansion plans. Primary Source Medovate / JEB Technologies Relevant Date 16 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- Escugen and Sovran expand collaboration to co-develop pan-tumour bispecific ADC
Escugen Biotechnology and Sovran Biosciences have expanded their oncology collaboration with a co-development agreement for a pan-tumour bispecific antibody-drug conjugate. The programme will combine MICA/B targeting with a second tumour-associated target using an AND-gated design intended to improve tumour selectivity across multiple cancer types. The agreement advances the companies' relationship from research collaboration into joint development of a potentially first-in-class ADC programme, with financial terms undisclosed. Field Content Alert Type Deal Companies Escugen Biotechnology; Sovran Biosciences Deal Type Co-development agreement Asset or Company Pan-tumour bispecific antibody-drug conjugate programme Therapy Area(s) Oncology; solid tumours Technology or Modality Bispecific antibody-drug conjugate; AND-gated targeting Targets MICA/B plus a second tumour-associated target Deal Value Financial terms were not disclosed Geography Global What Happened Escugen and Sovran expanded their existing collaboration into a co-development agreement for a bispecific ADC intended to target multiple tumour types. Why It Matters The programme uses dual-target recognition designed to increase tumour selectivity, potentially improving therapeutic index compared with conventional single-target ADCs. Supporting Context The AND-gated strategy requires recognition of MICA/B and a second tumour-associated target to enhance preferential activity against cancer cells. Strategic Rationale Escugen and Sovran are combining complementary antibody-engineering and oncology-development capabilities to advance a differentiated ADC platform. Potential Impact If successful, the approach could support development of a broadly applicable ADC with improved specificity across multiple solid tumours. Key Takeaway Escugen and Sovran have moved into joint development of a pan-tumour bispecific ADC based on dual-target recognition. What to Watch Selection of the second tumour target, candidate nomination and progression into preclinical and clinical development. Primary Source Escugen Biotechnology / Sovran Biosciences Relevant Date 16 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- Flow Neuroscience launches first FDA-approved at-home tDCS treatment for depression in the US
Flow Neuroscience has launched FL-100 in the United States, bringing an FDA-approved at-home transcranial direct-current stimulation treatment to adults with moderate-to-severe major depressive disorder. The prescription device delivers non-invasive electrical stimulation at home and is intended to provide a drug-free treatment option for eligible adults with depression. The US launch expands access to neuromodulation outside clinic-based settings and represents a significant commercial milestone for home-based digital and device-enabled mental healthcare. Field Content Alert Type Industry Update Product Name FL-100 Company Flow Neuroscience Development Type US commercial launch Indication Moderate-to-severe major depressive disorder in adults Therapy Area(s) Psychiatry; mental health; depression Technology or Modality Transcranial direct-current stimulation; neuromodulation Regulatory Status FDA-approved prescription medical device Geography United States What Happened Flow Neuroscience launched its FL-100 at-home tDCS treatment in the United States for adults with moderate-to-severe major depressive disorder. Why It Matters The launch broadens access to a non-pharmacological treatment that can be used at home under prescription rather than requiring repeated clinic-based neuromodulation sessions. Supporting Context Transcranial direct-current stimulation uses low-intensity electrical current applied through scalp electrodes to modulate activity in brain regions associated with depression. Potential Impact At-home treatment could improve convenience and expand the range of options available to patients who cannot tolerate, do not respond to or prefer alternatives to medication. Key Takeaway Flow Neuroscience has begun US commercialisation of an FDA-approved at-home tDCS treatment for depression. What to Watch Prescription uptake, payer coverage, patient adherence and real-world evidence on effectiveness outside controlled clinical settings. Primary Source Flow Neuroscience Relevant Date 16 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- Lilly and QurCan enter genetic-medicine collaboration worth up to $237m per programme
Lilly and QurCan Therapeutics have entered a multi-programme collaboration to develop nucleic-acid medicines for central and peripheral nervous system diseases using QurCan's TERP delivery platform. QurCan's polymer-lipid nanoparticle technology is designed to deliver genetic medicines beyond the liver and will be applied to selected CNS and PNS targets under the collaboration. QurCan is eligible for up to $237 million per programme in development and commercial milestones, as well as royalties, giving the agreement potentially substantial value across multiple programmes. Field Content Alert Type Deal Companies Eli Lilly and Company; QurCan Therapeutics Deal Type Strategic research and licensing collaboration Asset or Company TERP polymer-lipid nanoparticle delivery platform Therapy Area(s) Neurology; central nervous system; peripheral nervous system Technology or Modality Nucleic-acid therapeutics; polymer-lipid nanoparticles; genetic medicine Deal Value Up to US$237 million per programme in milestone payments, plus royalties Geography Global What Happened Lilly and QurCan Therapeutics entered a multi-programme collaboration to develop CNS and PNS genetic medicines using QurCan's TERP delivery technology. Why It Matters Efficient delivery remains a major challenge for genetic medicines outside the liver, and the collaboration gives Lilly access to a platform designed for broader tissue targeting. Supporting Context QurCan's TERP technology uses polymer-lipid nanoparticles designed to deliver nucleic-acid therapeutics to tissues including the central and peripheral nervous systems. Strategic Rationale Lilly gains access to a specialised delivery platform while QurCan receives development funding and potential milestone and royalty economics across multiple programmes. Potential Impact Successful programmes could expand the range of neurological diseases addressable with nucleic-acid medicines. Key Takeaway Lilly is partnering with QurCan on multiple genetic-medicine programmes, with potential payments of up to US$237 million per programme. What to Watch Selection of programme targets, preclinical development and evidence that TERP can achieve effective delivery in CNS and PNS tissues. Primary Source QurCan Therapeutics Relevant Date 15 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- FDA approves Ameluz photodynamic therapy for superficial basal cell carcinoma
The FDA has expanded the approved use of Ameluz with red-light photodynamic therapy to include treatment of superficial basal cell carcinoma in adults. The approval makes Ameluz with Biofrontera's RhodoLED system the first FDA-approved photodynamic therapy for a skin cancer and provides a non-surgical treatment option for eligible patients. The expanded indication builds on Ameluz's established use in actinic keratosis and extends the company's photodynamic therapy platform into superficial basal cell carcinoma. Field Content Alert Type Approval Drug Name Aminolevulinic acid hydrochloride gel Brand Name Ameluz Company Biofrontera Regulatory Authority U.S. Food and Drug Administration Approval Type Label expansion Indication Treatment of superficial basal cell carcinoma in adults using Ameluz with red-light photodynamic therapy Therapy Area(s) Dermatology; oncology; skin cancer Technology or Modality Photodynamic therapy Device RhodoLED red-light system Geography United States What Happened The FDA approved an expanded indication for Ameluz with red-light photodynamic therapy to treat superficial basal cell carcinoma in adults. Why It Matters The approval establishes the first FDA-approved photodynamic therapy for a skin cancer and introduces a non-surgical option for eligible patients with superficial basal cell carcinoma. Supporting Context Ameluz is already used with red-light photodynamic therapy for actinic keratosis and is activated by the RhodoLED treatment system. Key Takeaway Ameluz with RhodoLED becomes the first FDA-approved photodynamic therapy for superficial basal cell carcinoma. What to Watch Dermatology adoption, reimbursement and uptake relative to surgical and other non-surgical treatment options. Primary Source Biofrontera Relevant Date 14 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- FDA approves Curium's Bexlutry as first radioligand equivalent for SSTR-positive GEP-NETs
The FDA has approved Curium's Bexlutry as the first radioligand equivalent to Lutathera for adults with somatostatin receptor-positive gastroenteropancreatic neuroendocrine tumours. Bexlutry, or lutetium Lu 177 dotatate, delivers targeted radiation to tumour cells expressing somatostatin receptors and provides a new radioligand treatment option for eligible patients with GEP-NETs. The approval introduces the first FDA-approved therapeutic equivalent to Novartis' Lutathera and could broaden access to radioligand therapy in neuroendocrine tumour care. Field Content Alert Type Approval Drug Name Lutetium Lu 177 dotatate Brand Name Bexlutry Company Curium Pharma Regulatory Authority U.S. Food and Drug Administration Approval Type New drug approval; radioligand therapeutic equivalent Indication Treatment of adults with somatostatin receptor-positive gastroenteropancreatic neuroendocrine tumours Therapy Area(s) Oncology; neuroendocrine tumours Technology or Modality Radioligand therapy Reference Product Lutathera Geography United States What Happened The FDA approved Bexlutry (lutetium Lu 177 dotatate) for adults with somatostatin receptor-positive gastroenteropancreatic neuroendocrine tumours. Why It Matters Bexlutry is the first FDA-approved radioligand therapeutic equivalent to Lutathera, introducing another treatment option in an increasingly important precision-oncology modality. Supporting Context Lutetium Lu 177 dotatate targets somatostatin receptor-expressing tumour cells and delivers radioactive lutetium-177 directly to those cells. Key Takeaway Bexlutry becomes the first FDA-approved Lutathera equivalent for SSTR-positive GEP-NETs. What to Watch Commercial rollout, treatment-centre adoption and the effect of additional competition on access to radioligand therapy. Primary Source Curium Pharma Relevant Date 14 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- EMA opens consultation on new guideline for gastrointestinal drug-interaction studies
The European Medicines Agency has opened consultation on a draft guideline addressing the design and interpretation of studies assessing drug absorption interactions within the gastrointestinal tract. The draft guidance focuses on situations where medicines may alter the absorption of other drugs through mechanisms including changes in gastric pH, gastrointestinal motility, binding or complex formation. Comments are open until 31 December 2026, after which EMA may revise the guideline before final adoption and implementation across European medicines development. Field Content Alert Type Industry Update Organisation European Medicines Agency Development Type Draft regulatory guideline and public consultation Topic Drug absorption interactions in the gastrointestinal tract Sector Pharmaceutical regulation; clinical pharmacology Geography European Union What Happened EMA opened a public consultation on a draft guideline covering the design, conduct and interpretation of studies assessing drug absorption interactions in the gastrointestinal tract. Why It Matters The guideline could influence how pharmaceutical companies design interaction studies and demonstrate the safety and effectiveness of medicines whose absorption may be altered by other drugs. Key Areas Gastric pH changes; gastrointestinal motility; binding and complex formation; study design; data interpretation Supporting Context Gastrointestinal interactions can affect drug exposure without involving conventional metabolic or transporter-mediated drug-drug interaction pathways. Potential Impact Final guidance could standardise European expectations for evaluating these interactions during medicine development and regulatory submissions. Key Takeaway EMA is developing more specific regulatory expectations for assessing drug absorption interactions occurring within the gastrointestinal tract. What to Watch Stakeholder feedback before the 31 December 2026 consultation deadline and subsequent publication of the final guideline. Primary Source European Medicines Agency Relevant Date 11 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- GSK acquires Chimagen trispecific T-cell engager programme in deal worth up to $750m
GSK has acquired full global rights to Chimagen Biosciences' trispecific T-cell engager programme for multiple myeloma in a transaction worth up to $750 million. The programme is designed to engage T cells against multiple myeloma through a trispecific antibody approach, adding another differentiated immuno-oncology asset to GSK's haematology pipeline. Chimagen is eligible for upfront and milestone payments worth up to $750 million, while GSK will assume responsibility for further global development and commercialisation of the programme. Field Content Alert Type Deal Companies GSK; Chimagen Biosciences Deal Type Global rights acquisition / licensing agreement Asset or Company Trispecific T-cell engager programme Therapy Area(s) Oncology; haematology; multiple myeloma Technology or Modality Trispecific T-cell engager Deal Value Up to US$750 million in upfront and milestone payments Geography Global What Happened GSK acquired full global rights to Chimagen Biosciences' trispecific T-cell engager programme for multiple myeloma. Why It Matters The deal adds a potentially differentiated next-generation immunotherapy to GSK's multiple myeloma pipeline and strengthens its position in haematologic oncology. Supporting Context The programme uses a trispecific antibody design intended to direct T cells against tumour targets associated with multiple myeloma. Strategic Rationale GSK gains control of an innovative early-stage oncology programme while Chimagen receives near- and long-term economics tied to development and commercial success. Potential Impact Successful development could provide a new treatment approach for patients with multiple myeloma and strengthen competition in the T-cell engager field. Key Takeaway GSK is committing up to US$750 million for global rights to Chimagen's trispecific T-cell engager programme in multiple myeloma. What to Watch Entry into clinical development, early safety and efficacy data and positioning against other T-cell engager and cell-therapy approaches in multiple myeloma. Primary Source GSK Relevant Date 15 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- FDA reduces monitoring time for first two Imdelltra doses
The FDA has approved shorter monitoring requirements following the first two doses of Amgen's Imdelltra, reducing observation time from 22–24 hours to 6–8 hours. The prescribing-information update applies to the initial step-up doses of Imdelltra and could make administration of the bispecific T-cell engager more practical in community oncology settings. The change may reduce the logistical burden associated with treatment while maintaining required monitoring for cytokine release syndrome and other early treatment-related risks. Field Content Alert Type Approval Drug Name Tarlatamab-dlle Brand Name Imdelltra Company Amgen Regulatory Authority U.S. Food and Drug Administration Approval Type Prescribing-information / monitoring requirement update Indication Extensive-stage small cell lung cancer under the existing approved indication Therapy Area(s) Oncology; lung cancer Technology or Modality Bispecific T-cell engager Monitoring Change Post-dose monitoring for the first two doses reduced from 22–24 hours to 6–8 hours Geography United States What Happened The FDA approved an update to Imdelltra's prescribing information reducing monitoring time after the first two doses from 22–24 hours to 6–8 hours. Why It Matters Shorter observation requirements could make Imdelltra easier to administer outside large specialist centres and reduce the logistical burden on patients and oncology providers. Supporting Context Imdelltra is a bispecific T-cell engager used in extensive-stage small cell lung cancer and requires monitoring for cytokine release syndrome during early dosing. Key Takeaway FDA-approved shorter monitoring requirements could broaden practical access to Imdelltra treatment. What to Watch Changes in community-oncology adoption, outpatient administration patterns and real-world safety following the reduced monitoring requirement. Primary Source Amgen Relevant Date 14 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- Sanofi and Cheplapharm agree transfer of 20 mature medicines and three manufacturing sites
Sanofi and Cheplapharm have agreed a major mature-medicines transaction covering 20 products and three manufacturing sites in France, Hungary and Singapore. Cheplapharm will take responsibility for the portfolio and manufacturing facilities, while Sanofi will receive a 26.4% equity stake in Cheplapharm as part of the strategic partnership. The transaction allows Sanofi to further concentrate resources on innovative medicines while transferring established products and manufacturing infrastructure to a company specialised in mature pharmaceutical brands. Field Content Alert Type Deal Companies Sanofi; Cheplapharm Deal Type Portfolio and manufacturing asset transfer; strategic partnership Asset or Company 20 mature medicines and three manufacturing sites Manufacturing Sites France; Hungary; Singapore Therapy Area(s) Multiple therapeutic areas Technology or Modality Mature pharmaceutical products and manufacturing operations Deal Value Sanofi to receive a 26.4% equity stake in Cheplapharm; additional financial terms not disclosed Geography Global What Happened Sanofi and Cheplapharm agreed to transfer 20 mature medicines and three manufacturing sites to Cheplapharm, with Sanofi receiving a 26.4% equity stake in the company. Why It Matters The transaction represents a substantial portfolio and manufacturing realignment and allows Sanofi to focus more resources on innovative medicines while maintaining economic participation through its Cheplapharm stake. Supporting Context Cheplapharm specialises in acquiring and managing established pharmaceutical brands and mature medicines. Strategic Rationale Sanofi is simplifying its portfolio and manufacturing footprint, while Cheplapharm gains a significant group of established products and production assets. Potential Impact The transaction could reshape supply and commercial management of the transferred medicines while strengthening Cheplapharm's manufacturing and product portfolio. Key Takeaway Sanofi is transferring 20 mature medicines and three manufacturing sites to Cheplapharm in exchange for a significant equity stake. What to Watch Regulatory approvals, completion of the transaction and integration of the medicines and manufacturing sites into Cheplapharm. Primary Source Sanofi Relevant Date 14 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- Ori Biotech signs 10-year $120m cell-therapy manufacturing partnership
Ori Biotech has entered a 10-year commercial partnership worth up to $120 million to integrate its IRO automated manufacturing platform into production of an autologous cell therapy. The agreement will deploy Ori's automated cell-therapy manufacturing technology across an undisclosed partner's commercial production process, supporting greater standardisation and manufacturing scalability. The long-term contract represents a significant commercial validation of Ori's platform as cell-therapy developers seek to reduce labour, variability and production complexity in advanced-therapy manufacturing. Field Content Alert Type Deal Companies Ori Biotech; undisclosed cell-therapy partner Deal Type Long-term commercial manufacturing technology partnership Asset or Company IRO automated cell-therapy manufacturing platform Therapy Area(s) Cell therapy; advanced therapies Technology or Modality Automated autologous cell-therapy manufacturing Deal Value Up to US$120 million over 10 years Geography Global What Happened Ori Biotech entered a 10-year agreement to integrate its IRO automated manufacturing platform into an undisclosed partner's commercial autologous cell-therapy manufacturing process. Why It Matters Commercial-scale manufacturing remains a major constraint in cell therapy, and the agreement provides significant validation of Ori's approach to automation and standardisation. Supporting Context Ori's IRO platform is designed to automate and digitally manage cell-therapy manufacturing processes with the aim of reducing labour requirements, variability and manufacturing cost. Strategic Rationale The partner gains access to an automated production platform, while Ori secures a long-term commercial deployment of its technology. Potential Impact Broader automation could improve consistency, scalability and economics for commercial cell-therapy production. Key Takeaway Ori Biotech has secured a 10-year cell-therapy manufacturing partnership worth up to US$120 million. What to Watch Commercial deployment of IRO, expansion to additional manufacturing sites and evidence of improved production efficiency. Primary Source Ori Biotech Relevant Date 15 September 2026 Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com
- How Much Do Hospital Doctors Earn in Italy? 2026 SSN Contract and Salary Increases
Hospital doctors working in Italy’s Servizio Sanitario Nazionale (SSN) received a new national collective agreement in 2026, bringing higher pay and updated allowances for medical and healthcare managers. The CCNL Area Sanità 2022–2024 was definitively signed on 27 February 2026 and applies to more than 137,000 healthcare managers, including around 120,000 doctors. ARAN says the agreement provides average increases of approximately €490 gross per month over 13 monthly payments, although the amount received by an individual doctor depends on role, responsibility and the components of their remuneration package. For hospital doctors in Italy, the important point is that there is not one single SSN salary figure. Pay is built from several elements, including: tabular salary; medical-specificity allowance; position allowance; responsibility payments; on-call and working-condition payments; performance-related remuneration; and additional allowances attached to particular roles. As a result, understanding what an Italian hospital doctor earns requires looking beyond the basic salary alone. What changed for hospital doctors in Italy in 2026? The new national contract introduced significant pay increases. According to ANAAO and CIMO-FESMED, the increases range from approximately: €322 gross per month for doctors in initial professional assignments to: €530 gross per month for directors of complex surgical structures. ARAN describes the average increase across the contract population as approximately: €490 gross per month for 13 monthly payments. These are increases generated by the new contract rather than complete physician salaries. A doctor’s total remuneration depends on the combination of contractual components applying to their role. What is the basic salary for an SSN medical manager? The new contract sets the gross annual tabular salary for medical managers at: €28,546.03 per year including the thirteenth-month payment. This number should not be interpreted as the full annual income of an SSN hospital doctor. It is only one component of the remuneration structure. Hospital doctors also receive other fixed and variable components, including medical-specificity and position allowances. That distinction is essential when comparing Italian physician pay with headline salaries in other countries. What is the medical-specificity allowance? The contract also provides an indennità di specificità medico-veterinaria. For medical and veterinary managers, the annual gross amount is: €9,466 per year including the thirteenth-month payment. This sits alongside the tabular salary rather than replacing it. So even before considering position-related pay, responsibility allowances, on-call activity or performance components, an Italian hospital doctor’s remuneration already consists of multiple separate elements. How does position affect a hospital doctor’s pay? One of the most important components is the retribuzione di posizione — position-related remuneration. The amount depends on the type and level of responsibility assigned to the doctor. The new contract sets the fixed annual gross position component at: Role Fixed annual position remuneration Initial professional assignment €2,511 Professional / consultancy / research assignment €6,798 High-specialisation professional assignment €8,034 Simple structure within a complex structure €13,143 Departmental/district simple-structure director €14,935 Complex structure director – medical area €20,312 Complex structure director – surgical area €21,506 These figures are annual gross amounts paid over 13 months. The full position payment can also contain a variable component. The contract sets much higher maximum overall position values depending on the post. For example: an initial professional assignment can reach €30,891 in total position remuneration; a high-specialisation professional assignment can reach €43,339; a departmental high-professionalism role can reach €44,060; a complex-structure directorship can reach €52,966. This is why a single headline “doctor salary in Italy” can be misleading. Responsibility and appointment type materially affect compensation. How much more do senior doctors receive? The new contract strengthens remuneration for doctors who take on greater clinical and managerial responsibility. For directors of complex structures, there is also a separate annual allowance. From the contractual effective date, the indennità di direzione di struttura complessa is: €11,157 gross per year paid over 13 months. For senior doctors running major hospital units, this sits on top of the other applicable remuneration components. A director of a complex surgical structure may therefore receive: tabular salary; medical-specificity allowance; position remuneration; complex-structure director allowance; performance-related pay; working-condition payments; and other applicable supplements. This helps explain why senior hospital-doctor compensation can be substantially higher than the basic tabular salary suggests. Does seniority affect position pay? Yes. For doctors with an exclusive employment relationship and a positive assessment, the contract guarantees minimum total position remuneration according to seniority. The minimum annual gross amounts are: €6,798 for at least 5 but under 15 years of service; €7,600 for at least 15 but under 20 years; €9,100 for 20 years or more. Seniority therefore affects compensation even where a physician does not move into a formal management post. Is the contractual increase the same for every hospital doctor? No. The 2026 agreement does not simply add one uniform amount to every physician’s salary. ANAAO and CIMO-FESMED report increases ranging from: €322 gross per month for initial professional appointments to: €530 gross per month for directors of complex surgical structures. The difference reflects the fact that the contract increased several remuneration components, including: basic salary; fixed position pay; medical-specificity allowances; and complex-structure leadership allowances. ARAN also states that the fixed position element for newly appointed managers increased substantially, with the change intended to improve the attractiveness of entry into the SSN. Are on-call shifts included? Not fully. Italian hospital-doctor pay can also include additional remuneration associated with working conditions and duties such as: guardia; pronta disponibilità; additional working time; emergency-department activity; nights; holidays; and other specific organisational responsibilities. These amounts are important because they can increase total annual remuneration beyond the fixed contractual components. For physicians working frequent nights or emergency duties, the difference between basic remuneration and actual gross earnings can therefore be significant. Does specialty affect the national SSN salary? Not directly in the same way as a specialty-specific compensation survey. The national contract is primarily structured around: employment status; assignment type; professional responsibility; managerial responsibility; seniority; and working conditions. A cardiologist, oncologist or neurologist holding a comparable SSN appointment is therefore operating within the same underlying national contractual framework. There is, however, one notable distinction in the contract. For directors of complex structures, the fixed position allowance differs between the surgical area and the medical area: Surgical complex-structure director: €21,506 per year Medical complex-structure director: €20,312 per year That is a role-based contractual distinction rather than evidence that one medical specialty generally earns more than another. Can we calculate one annual salary for an Italian hospital doctor? Not accurately from the national contract alone. For example, it would be misleading simply to quote the €28,546.03 tabular salary as an Italian hospital doctor's annual salary. That figure excludes major contractual components. At minimum, total fixed remuneration can involve: €28,546.03 tabular salary; €9,466 medical-specificity allowance; position-related remuneration; and potentially other role-specific fixed allowances. Variable and additional payments can then sit on top. The correct interpretation is therefore that the CCNL provides a remuneration framework, rather than one universal physician salary. Why is the 2026 contract important? The agreement is particularly significant because it is newly effective in 2026 and directly applies to Italy’s public health-service workforce. It covers approximately: 120,000 doctors and: 17,000 non-medical healthcare managers. The new contract increases both entry-level and senior-role remuneration and changes several of the components that make up physician pay. For hospital doctors, this makes the 2026 agreement a much stronger current benchmark than older national earnings averages. What should hospital doctors in Italy take from the 2026 data? The central message is that there is no single SSN hospital-doctor salary. The new contract establishes a basic annual tabular salary of: €28,546.03 plus a medical-specificity allowance of: €9,466 with position remuneration ranging from: €2,511 for an initial professional assignment to: €21,506 in fixed position pay for a director of a complex surgical structure before variable position pay and other allowances are considered. The 2026 contractual increases themselves range from approximately: €322 to €530 gross per month depending on the doctor's appointment. For an individual hospital doctor, the most useful question is therefore not simply: “What is the salary of a doctor in Italy?” It is: “Which SSN contractual components apply to my role, and how much do my position, seniority, responsibilities and additional duties add to my fixed pay?” That provides a much more meaningful way to understand hospital-doctor compensation in Italy. Source: ARAN, Contratto Collettivo Nazionale di Lavoro dell’Area Sanità – Triennio 2022–2024, definitively signed 27 February 2026. Additional context on the contractual increases from ANAAO Assomed and CIMO-FESMED. Discover how nuaxia can support your next medical education initiative: Find out more about our specialist services - Moore's Outcome Assessments, Educational Needs Assessments and Patient Impact Studies for the Medical Education sector Contact us on: support@nuaxia.com



